Giving Societies

John E. Cribbet Leadership Giving Society

Donors who make a cash gift to the College of Law on an annual basis at a leadership level are recognized for their exemplary loyalty and generosity (unless requested otherwise) by membership in the John E. Cribbet Leadership Giving Society. Gifts at the leadership levels truly stand alone in their impact on the College of Law and the education it provides to students. $1,000 can pay for a student to refine their litigation skills by traveling to a trial team competition. $2,500 can make the difference between a top prospective student being able to afford coming to Illinois Law.

Cribbet Leadership Society Giving Levels

Dean’s Cabinet $25,000 and above
Dean’s Council $10,000 – $24,999
Dean’s Circle $5,000 – $9,999
Dean’s Fellow $2,500 – $4,999
1897 Society $1,000 – $2,499*

*Classes prior to their 10th reunion qualify at $500
*Classes prior to their 5th reunion qualify at $250

The John E. Cribbet Leadership Giving Society honors the man who served the institution with the passionate belief that our society is served well by introducing women and men to our legal system. A distinguished graduate of the College of Law Class of 1947, John Cribbet went on to teach three generations of students. He founded the Illinois Law Forum, which is today’s University of Illinois Law Review. He mentored students and faculty members in ways that vastly enriched the experiences of both. He wrote books on property law that have had significant influence on the development of the entire property law field.

He became the College’s seventh dean in 1967, then was asked in 1979 to lead this campus as Chancellor. After five years, he returned to active teaching at the College as the Richard W. and Marie L. Corman Professor. Continuing his generosity, he endowed the John E. Cribbet Excellence in Teaching Award to recognize a College of Law professor’s outstanding achievement in the classroom.

Harno Society

The Albert J. Harno Society recognizes those thoughtful and generous alumni and friends, for their foresight and philanthropic spirit when they chose to create an enduring legacy for the long-term welfare of the College by providing gifts through life income or a gift estate to the College.

The Albert J. Harno Society is named after Dean Albert J. Harno, the 6th dean of the College of Law, and a man who left an indelible imprint on this institution. Albert Harno served as dean of the College from 1922 to 1957, guiding the College through fascinating times including the Depression, a World War, and the construction of our current law facility. Dean Harno’s tenure at Illinois – as a professor, dean, and the provost – is a legacy which will live on at the University of Illinois forever.