Class Notes

Class Notes are displayed in the order that they are received. You may also view notes by decade, or by class year – simply click on the decade or click on the + symbol to expand the decade and display by year. If a given class year does not appear, notes do not exist for that particular year.

Submit a Class Note

Marron Mahoney '07


Of Counsel at Laner Muchin Marron Mahoney was recently inducted as the 56th President of the Appellate Lawyers Association, an association of lawyers who practice in the courts of review and the judges who sit on those courts. 

Dania Duncan Moreno LLM '07


Dania Duncan Moreno LLM '07 has been named to the “2023 Texas Rising Stars” list published by Super Lawyers. 

Eric Carlson '07


Eric L. Carlson was promoted to Managing Director at Burford Capital. Carlson is based in the Chicago office and has responsibility for assessing and underwriting legal risk, particularly in the intellectual property space. He is focused on working with law firms, corporations, and IP holders to assess legal claims and leverage litigation finance.

Matthew Feery '07

Matthew Feery was elevated from associate to income principal in the Labor & Employment group at Chicago-based law firm Much Shelist, P.C.

Matt helps employers of all sizes support their business goals by developing best practices, strategies and solutions in compliance with labor and employment laws. In addition to his counseling practice, Matt represents and defends employers in litigation in numerous settings, including state and federal courts and administrative agencies.

David Eisenberg '07

David Eisenberg helped form Loftus & Eisenberg, Ltd. where he was named Managing Partner.

Sarah Tomkowiak '07

Sarah Tomkowiak of Latham & Watkins LLP was recently selected as one of six securities law practitioners under age 40 honored by Law360 as Rising Stars.

Jordan Ault '07

Jordan Ault is a partner in the Jefferson City, Missouri, office of Husch Blackwell. Jordan recently launched and co-chairs the firm's Nonprofit Organizations and Religious Institutions team. In June, he was elected to serve as Chancellor to the Missouri Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and represents over 700 churches across the state. He is one of four Missouri attorneys to be awarded the 2019 Pro Bono Publico Award from the Missouri Bar for outstanding pro bono service to indigent or low-income persons in need of legal assistance. Jordan received the honor for his work challenging Missouri’s parole policies on behalf of a class of Missouri youthful offenders that received mandatory sentences of life without parole. Jordan helped secure summary judgment in favor of the class, resulting in new parole procedures that give class members a meaningful and realistic opportunity for release based on demonstrated maturity and rehabilitation.

Steve Flores '07

Steve Flores, Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation Partner at Winston & Strawn LLP in Chicago, has been named a Lawyer of The Year by the Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois (HLAI).

Steve advises employers of all sizes on a broad array of matters involving employee benefit plans and executive compensation. He also advises clients on EBEC in mergers and acquisitions, restructurings, and lending transactions. He was the founding chair of Winston’s Latina/o Lawyers Alliance affinity group.

Ajay Shah '07

Ajay Shah, CEO of Globetrotters Engineering Corporation, has been elected to the Board of Managers of the Chicago Bar Association.

Robert Britton '07

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP is pleased to announce that effective January 1, 2019 Robert Britton will be named partner. Mr. Britton will be a partner in the bankruptcy & corporate reorganization department. He has played leading roles in a number of major restructurings, representing debtors, equity owners, creditor groups and distressed investors in acquisitions, out-of-court restructurings and chapter 11 cases.

Tim McGillicuddy '07

The Alaska Department of Law announced the appointment of Tim McGillicuddy as the Ketchikan District Attorney, effective Aug. 6. McGillicuddy graduated from the University of Illinois School of Law in 2007 and served as a prosecutor around the country for nine out of the following 11 years. He has practiced in diverse areas of the country from Chicago to the Navajo Reservation in Arizona. He came to the Ketchikan District Attorney’s office in 2016 and since then has worked a varied caseload including complex homicides, assaults, burglaries, and drug trafficking cases.

Sarah Duffy '07

Sarah Duffy has been chosen to serve as an Associate Judge of the Eleventh Judicial Circuit, which includes McLean, Livingston, Logan, Woodford, and Ford Counties.

Jennifer Liebman '07

Jennifer Liebman has joined the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Fair Housing Equal Opportunity, Region II, New York City.