Class Notes

Class Notes are displayed in the order that they are received. You may also view notes by decade, or by class year – simply click on the decade or click on the + symbol to expand the decade and display by year. If a given class year does not appear, notes do not exist for that particular year.

Submit a Class Note

Amir Ovcina '08

Amir Ovcina has been named a partner in the Business Group at Ice Miller LLP.

Gray Mateo-Harris '08

Gray Mateo-Harris joined Barnes & Thornburg LLP as a Partner in their Labor & Employment practice group in April of 2018. She was recently honored with the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin's 40 Under Forty award and the National Bar Association's 40 Under 40 award. She was also selected to serve as a board member for the Illinois Equal Justice Foundation.

Collin Delaney '08

Collin Delaney ’08 was appointed an U.S. Administrative Law Judge for the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services in Denver, CO. A reservist in the Air Force JAG Corps, he was named Air Force Special Operations Command’s 2018 Outstanding Reserve Judge Advocate.

Kristopher Davis '08

Kristopher Davis has accepted a position as partner at Russ August & Kabat, where he focuses on intellectual property and litigation.

Andrew Tessman '08

Andrew Tessman has joined the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Southern District of West Virginia as an assistant U.S. attorney. Most recently, he was a judicial law clerk for the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of California in Fresno.

Samuel Bernstein '08

Samuel C. Bernstein has been elected partner at McGuireWoods, effective January 1, 2019. He represents pharmaceutical and medical device companies regarding FDA approval pathways, fraud and abuse issues, off-label promotion, adverse event reporting, developing and implementing compliance programs, and other regulatory and compliance matters. 

Wade Iverstine '08

Wade Iverstine is a partner in the Baton Rouge office of Kean Miller and practices in the business, corporate, real estate, and bankruptcy groups. He advises investors and lenders in all aspects of real estate transactions, including acquisition and project financing, leasing, land use, site inspection, and survey and title insurance issues. Prior to joining the firm, he served as a law clerk for the Honorable Patrick M. Flatley of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of West Virginia.

Jessica John Bowman '08

The shareholders of McAfee & Taft, Oklahoma’s largest law firm, have elected Jessica John Bowman a shareholder. John Bowman is a patent attorney and trial lawyer whose practice is primarily focused on intellectual property, environmental, and appellate litigation. She also maintains an active practice before the Trademark Trial and Appeals Board, assisting numerous retailers, manufacturers, and banking institutions in opposition and cancellation proceedings.

Collin Delaney '08

Collin Delaney was appointed as a federal Administrative Law Judge for the Social Security Administration. Collin served previously with the U.S. Department of Justice, the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Maryland, and the U.S. Air Force Judge Advocate General’s Corps.

Austin Kaplan '08

Austin Kaplan is the 2017 President of the Austin Young Lawyers Association (, which serves more than 1,200 young lawyers across Central Texas. Kaplan practices employment and civil rights law. He is a Texas Bar Foundation Fellow, Austin Bar Foundation Fellow, 2016 Austinite of the Year, and the 2016 Austin Under 40 Lawyer of the Year.

Chris Minelli '08

Ottawa, Illinois attorney and Democrat Chris Minelli plans to run against U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger for the 16th Congressional District seat in 2018.

Bina Joshi '08

Bina Joshi has been promoted to partner at Schiff Hardin LLP in the firm’s Chicago office. Bina’s practice is centered on environmental litigation, including issues arising under the Clean Air Act, CERCLA, and related state laws. She regularly helps clients with compliance matters, both in dealing with compliance issues and in the development of compliance programs and plans.